top of page

Cracking the Code of Self-Love: Unfolding the Four Stages

How do we grapple with the concept of self-love in a world that often confuses it with selfishness, narcissism, or simply a buzzword? The truth is, genuine self-love is far from any of these things. It is the cornerstone of mental, emotional and spiritual well-being. It's the foundation upon which we build healthy relationships, realise our potential and contribute positively to the world around us. Today, let's pull back the curtain on this integral yet misunderstood aspect of our lives.

I’m bringing you a detailed exploration of the intricate stages of self-love. Before we delve into it, let's first understand why these stages matter. Knowing where you stand on your self-love journey not only provides clarity and direction but also empowers you to take informed steps towards progress. It's like having a map when you're navigating unfamiliar terrain.

Just as a tree goes through distinct stages before it matures fully - from a seed, sprout, sapling, to a fully-grown tree, self-love too undergoes an evolution. Let's unearth these stages and comprehend how they may unfold in your life.

1. The Self-Love Deficient Stage 💔

This stage often stems from a neglect of the self in favour of pleasing others or fulfilling societal expectations. It's as if you're standing in front of a mirror, but the reflection you see is blurred or distorted. At this point, it's important to remember that everyone starts their self-love journey somewhere. This stage is not a dead end; rather, it's a starting line.

If you find yourself in this stage, you might experience feelings of unworthiness and struggle with setting boundaries. Sarah, a hardworking corporate professional, spent years prioritising her job over her personal life. She worked long hours, rarely took breaks and frequently put her health on the back burner. This lifestyle eventually led to burnout, prompting her to reconsider her approach to self-care.

For individuals like Sarah, the first step towards self-love involves self-recognition. Acknowledge your feelings and needs. Start by taking small steps, like setting aside a few minutes each day for self-reflection or engaging in activities you love.

2. The Self-Love Hungry Stage 🍽️

In this stage, you've acknowledged the need for self-love, but struggle with implementing it consistently. It's like spotting an oasis in the desert, only to discover it's a mirage. You're aware of what you need, but the actual fulfilment remains elusive.

Consider Jason, a budding entrepreneur who has realised the importance of self-love. Despite his best intentions, he struggles to maintain a steady self-care routine amidst his busy schedule. This inconsistency leaves him feeling drained and demotivated.

If you can relate to Jason's experience, the key is patience and perseverance. Self-love isn't a switch that you can flick on instantly; it's a habit that you cultivate over time. Find ways to incorporate self-care activities into your daily routine, even if it's as simple as a five-minute meditation session or a quick stroll during your lunch break.

3. The Conditional Self-Love Stage 🎭

At this stage, self-love is largely contingent on external factors. Imagine a performance where the applause is deafening, but as soon as the audience leaves, there's an unsettling silence. If your self-esteem soars with praise and crashes with criticism, you might be in the conditional self-love stage.

Take Lisa, a successful author. Lisa loves herself when her books are well-received, but when they fail to hit the mark, her self-love takes a nosedive. Her happiness and self-worth are tied to her success, making her feel like she's on an emotional roller coaster.

For those who resonate with Lisa's experience, the key lies in separating self-worth from external achievements or validations. Start by recognising that failure doesn't define you; it helps you grow. Remember, self-love isn't about perfection; it's about embracing your imperfections and valuing yourself regardless of external circumstances.

4. The King or Queen of Self-Love Stage 👑

This stage signifies a point where self-love is consistent, unwavering and not tied to external circumstances or personal achievements. It's akin to a lighthouse, emitting a steady light regardless of the storm that's brewing outside.

Sam, a motivational speaker, has experienced many ups and downs throughout his life. But, regardless of his experiences, he has learned to maintain a stable sense of self-love. His self-esteem remains unscathed, whether he faces criticism or applause.

If you're at this stage, congratulations! You've achieved something truly remarkable. The challenge now lies in maintaining this state of self-love. Regular self-care routines, self-affirmations and continuous self-awareness can help keep your self-love from wavering.

Self-love is not a linear journey; there may be times when you find yourself fluctuating between these stages. That's okay! What's important is that you're aware of where you stand and that you're willing to take steps towards improvement.

There's a beautiful journey of self-discovery ahead of you, full of moments that will challenge you, inspire you and ultimately transform you. Remember, every step you take towards self-love is a step towards nurturing your spirit, fueling your growth and enhancing your overall quality of life. So, embrace your pace and savour this journey towards becoming the best version of yourself.

You are worth it!

Remember, at Holistic Transformative Therapy, we are committed to supporting you on this journey. Together, we can transform your life! Love & light,

Dorota Hypnotherapist and counsellor

Holistic Transformative Therapy Get in touch with me! @: mobile: 07849 580021 Instagram @holistictransformativetherapy Facebook: Holistic Transformative Therapy

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page